INSIDEOUT NYC

Katarina Matsson gets to the core of the Big Apple

New Home, New York

leave a comment »

New York, New York. Stad av hopp och drömmar, fantasi och verklighet, framtid och historia. Vart man än går har man varit där förut, i filmen, musiken, modet, konsten eller litteraturen. Min hjärna spelar Strokes ”New York City Cops” första gången jag ser en polisbil och när jag lyfter handen för att vinka till mig en taxi förvandlas jag till Carrie Bradshaw. På East 10th Street letar jag omedvetet efter Patti Smith och Robert Mapplethorpe och jag promenerar hela Grand Street från väst till öst bara för komma fram till huset där huvudpersonen i Gary Shteyngarts framtidsdystopi ”Super Sad True Love Story” bor. Till tonerna av Alicia Keys ”Empire State Of Mind (Part II)” går solen ner över Woody Allens (och Beyoncés, Chloë Sevignys, punkens, ”Gossip girls”, Lady Gagas, Mark Jacobs, ”Rosemary’s baby”, Nina Perssons och en massa andra grymma människors) Manhattan. Allt är bekant, men samtidigt nytt. Och nu är det mitt.

ENGLISH: New York, New York. City of hopes and dreams, fantasy and reality, future and history. Wherever you go, you’ve been there before, in movies, music, fashion, art or litterature. My brain plays The Strokes’ ”New York City Cops” the first time I see an NYPD and when I raise my hand to hail a cab I turn into Carrie Bradshaw. On East 10th Street my eyes unconsciously seek Patti Smith and Robert Mapplethorpe and I walk Grand Street all the way from west to east just to find the co-op where the main character in Gary Shteyngarts brilliant dystopia ”Super Sad True Love Story” resides. To the backdrop of Alicia Keys’ ”Empire State State Of Mind (Part II)” the sun settles over Woody Allen’s (and Beyoncé’s, Chloë Sevigny’s, punk’s, ”Gossip girls’”, Lady Gaga’s, Mark Jacob’s, ”Rosemary’s baby”’s, Nina Persson’s and tons of other cool people’s) Manhattan. Everything is familiar, yet fresh. And now it’s mine.

Written by Katarina

August 19, 2010 at 5:43 pm

Posted in Just Life

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

