INSIDEOUT NYC

Katarina Matsson gets to the core of the Big Apple

Best Of New York: Whitney Port

leave a comment »

I förra veckan damp jag ner i en soffa i Chelsea och pratade bort en regnig stund med designern Whitney Port – faktiskt en himla fin och jordnära tjej! (Intervjun får ni vänta en stund på.) Nyligen gjorde hon en sammanställning av sina West Village-favoriter för sin kompis sajt Paper & String – för övrigt ett jättebra ställe att hitta NYC-tips på – och med Whitneys tillstånd och goda minne publicerar jag nu den listan här (notera svenska Acne-referensen). Läs här för att kolla in hennes Soho-favoriter också.

ENGLISH: Last week I sat down with designer Whitney Port in a studio in Chelsea – such a sweet and down-to-earth girl! (You’ll have to wait for the interview. If you understand Swedish…) Recently she listed her West Village favorites for her friend’s website Paper & String, a great place to find NYC happenings, and with Whitney’s permission and unanimous consent I now post it here (please note the Swedish Acne reference!). Read here to catch her Soho-faves too.  

Best coffee: Joe the Art of Coffee (141 Waverly Pl. between 6th Ave and Gay St.) “This is where I get my Joe when I’m on the go — which is always when I’m in NYC! My usual drink of choice is a Soy Cappuccino, but the last time I was here, I dared (just a bit!) and tried Soy English Breakfast Latte. The verdict? Just as delicious, and the best way to kick-start your day.”

Best Smoothie: One Lucky Duck (75 9th Ave, between 15th and 16th Sts.) “The Banana Nut smoothie at this all-vegan stall in the Chelsea Market is something I dream about the minute I get on the plane in Los Angeles. Made with banana, cashew milk, vanilla, and a hint of cinnamon, it’s the perfect mid-day snack, and a healthy one, to boot.”

Best Shopping: Castor and Pollux (238 W. 10th St, between Hudson and Bleecker Sts.) “This fashion-forward boutique is perfect for my Cali-hattan aesthetic. From chunky Acne sweaters to kitschy Bing Bang necklaces, this store is home to some of my favorite brands. One of the coolest things I’ve seen recently? These stackable “Maggie” bracelets, designed by Portland-based designer Kim Dunham. Each is inscribed with “tu es pulchra.” Translation: “You are beautiful,” in Latin. Guys: Any girl will drool over these, I promise.”

Best fresh fish: Extra Virgin (259 W. 4th St, between Perry and Charles Sts.) “Spring has arrived, so fellow New Yorkers, I ask you: What’s better than dining al fresco? That’s right, nothing. Feel the warm breeze as you enjoy the buffala mozzarella and grape tomato salad. Laced with roasted peppers and arugala, too, it’s a divine way to start the meal. But I really come here for the fresh fish. The “Halibut Simply Grilled,” with herbs, tomato carpaccio, and a side of arugala is genius.”

Best dancing: The Jane Hotel (113 Jane St.) “Imagine the best dance party ever (think: Jackson Five, Cee Lo Green, and everything in between) in the comfort of your very large, cozy and very mismatched living room. Add eye popping people watching and yummy cocktails and you have yourself a Saturday night at the Jane Hotel, one of my favorite weekend haunts.”

Leave a comment